WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

I started and almost finished backing my friend's quilt for her. Tomorrow I'll make the cushion to go with the one she has completed. I hope to post them off tomorrow afternoon so she can give them to her son personally. (See Blip from 9th)

I also did some more on line gift shopping. I am quite enjoying other places to buy things from. I shop for household stuff on EcoVibe where everything is recyclable, biodegradeable and animal friendly. I recently bought wool from companies that keep sheep purely for their wool and not for slaughter, I buy vegan 'cheese' on line from Live Well in Colne, Books and other things from a company called Hive Store Ltd. They donate a percentage of each purchase to an independent book shop of your choice. Fabrics from lots of small sellers. Then there is Etsy and Not on the High Street.

The Blip is of the yummy, spicy, chocolate rice pudding Frank made today. The recipe is in the Feast Magazine from the Saturday Guardian. It was delicious and there are leftovers for tomorrow!

The tooth is mostly behaving as long as I avoid hot and cold. I have to let my coffee cool till it's luke warm and clean my teeth with warm water. Last night when I took Bella May round the block the pain was set off by cold air and was excrutiating - brought tears to my eyes!

I was listening to all the Woman's Hour episodes from this week while I was sewing in the attic. There were lots of interesting topics from the future of freight ships with sails, Brexit and Boris's struggle communicating with very intelligent people :-o, a young woman's campaign against FGM in Somalia, the new High Court ruling on puberty blockers, pottery and the therapeutic effects of working with clay, an interview with an IT entrepreneur and philanthropist Dame Stevie Shirley - who was a Jewish child refugee. Then there was the Family Secrets interview and an article about helping Shy Children be their best.

A good and interesting day!

Now I'm going to chill out on the sofa!

:-)x

Update - I found my unpicker! Lying on the floor where I had looked and run my hand across the carpet looking for stray pins! It was just there in a very obvious place :-]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.