Life after Burradoo, NSW

By MountGrace

The magic of chess

I've always loved chess, not that I have played for some years. When I do play it's with the skills I learned as a nine-year old. Indeed, I play like a nine year old!

We've started watching The Queen's Gambit on Netflix and it's fascinating. The nine year old prodigy in the series bears no resemblance to my nine-year-old. I am in awe at the talent of the character.

I find myself fascinated by chess sets. I bought mine many years ago in Hong Kong in a culture and arts centre. My chess set adorns one of the shelves in our den. I never tire of studying the pieces and noticing the fine details.

My set is, of course, nothing compared to the wonderful Lewis Chessmen I blipped about months ago. Now, they really are something.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.