A moment of stillness caught

Morning spent prepping the apartment for tomorrow’s open home, then away north to the beach house. An evening walk in Highfield Reserve, which is where I was lucky enough to see a wee Riroriro (Grey Warbler), AND get this photo.

I’ve returned to add a photo I took on the same walk as when I saw the riroriro. The tui were hyperactive this evening. Flying around. Chasing each other. And disappearing into tall trees when pausing in their mating games. 

When coming up the over 200 steps from the low point of the upper set of steps up to what was once a high field for farm animals, I heard this tui. I was by a seat and sat quietly, and eventually it came to low enough branches,with little in between it and me, and I could get a photo or more. The vibrant colours of a tui can be seen but not as dramatically as others capture. 

Later I went to Little and Local, a restaurant and bar in the Snells Beach centre, ordered a couple of small pizzas, and enjoyed an ale while waiting for them. Had another look at my photos an decided to post the tui as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.