Afternoon Delight. Not.

I really don't like fruit. I'm a salad and veggie person. The husband likes fresh berries for breakfast. I don't. I like a slice of toast slathered in butter. I have been told that I am missing out on lots of good stuff because I'm so picky.

Maybe I'm picky because the fruit we get here is always over-refrigerated and decomposing before it even hits our local shops. (OK I admit it is February and I am talking about fresh berries, so we're hardly eating seasonally, and they have obviously travelled a long way from the farm to my table).

If the husband is the only one eating them, they are growing fur before they're finished and end up being thrown out for the birds. As we are now trying to adjust to the frugal lifestyle that is looming with the husband's impending retirement, I now feel obliged to eat the fruit so it's finished before it has to be thrown out.

I refuse to eat it for breakfast. I eat it after I've been on the treadmill, so my two least favourite things in the day are over and done with in one fell swoop.

Roll on mango season!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.