Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Pied Wagtail

A pair of pied wagtails were hopping round the edge of the Rowing Lake this evening, picking up small seeds. I managed to catch the bolder of the two just as the sun was setting, turning the water into molten lava. 

I'd planned to walk round the lake but one of the paths was still flooded, so I stayed fairly close to the car-park, trying to get a few slow-shutter shots of the black-headed gulls. While I was doing this, a chap with a video camera, who'd been feeding the birds, engaged me in conversation. 

He seemed to have had a much tougher time with his camera than me, having been stopped by the police several times for filming in public places. There are definitely advantages to being a middle-aged woman - we're almost always either overlooked or thought to be harmless (if slightly batty) - whether we are or not! New career as a spy?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.