Kruschicki

Dear Diary,

A really old family Christmas memory.  My dad's mother made these Polish Christmas cookies, Kruschicki which means "angel wings".  They look like little bow ties.  She died when I was 7 and then my mother made them.  I remember the first time I made them was in 8th grade cooking class when every one had to make a family Christmas cookie recipe.  I made them a couple of times when I married but it has been nearly 50 years since I tried.  They are made with no butter but with sour cream and, wait for it, whiskey!  they are fried and then covered in powdered sugar.  Getting them rolled out thin enough to be crispy is not easy but I'm glad I tried recreating this old memory even though my kitchen is covered in powdered sugar!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.