Bluebird

I was indoors all day on Thursday, but when I started to see the sun breaking through in the afternoon, I decided I needed to fit in some quick outdoor time before running my after-work errands. (Which, with another "wintry mix" on the way for Friday, of course included stopping for groceries.)

So when my work day ended, I sped over to the Arboretum for fifteen minutes of sunlight (with camera) before embarking on my other obligations.

I was walking around taking pictures of the line of trees at the edge of the Arboretum, when I saw a bluebird alight on a nearby bush. It flew down to the ground and back several times, each time alighting on this small branch.

After a few minutes, the bluebird took flight. And I suddenly noticed that it had been joined by as many as a dozen other bluebirds. They scattered into the trees. From there they took to the skies and were gone!

A song to accompany this photo: Learning to Fly, performed live by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, with sweet harmonies provided by Stevie Nicks.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.