MonoMonday: Portrait

This week's challenge hosted by Carolinav is a portrait of someone you admire or your pet.
As the only human I saw today was Mr isbi it had to be him one way or the other, unless I did the camels.

Anyway he did a very admirable thing today when he told me he had discovered some flannel flowers near here. He wouldn't have noticed them, let alone known how special they are, if I hadn't made him take me to see the ones last week.
So off we went and I asked him to pose with them for a portrait for today's blip. I think he found the setting a bit girly but I do admire the fact that he is very obliging.

These flowers are on a neighbouring property which seems abandoned. The owner was very eccentric and we think he has died.  
The local electricity people have made two attempts to locate and check a power pole there. The first guy came here for directions a couple of months ago and then proceeded to get his ute bogged and Mr isbi had to extricate him with the tractor. 
Someone else turned up the other day but still couldn't find the pole so while we were there today we went searching. 
We eventually found the homestead after tramping through the bush. It is inaccessible by road at present. It was quite a treasure trove of dereliction and all rather eerie. 
I'll add some extras which give only a fraction of an idea of what we saw.

The first extra is Mr isbi sitting on the relatively orderly front verandah. (I think he prefers this to the main portrait ;-))
The second extra shows the house from the back and the elusive power pole - plainly the least derelict thing on the place.
The others are just a couple of the many derelict vehicles lying around.
There was so much there I could a do year or two of derelict Sundays.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.