ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Behind Closed Doors

A trip to Lancaster today to try and get a couple of CDs which I couldn’t find last time we were in Chester. On the way in, we walked past the Grand Theatre - not only have I seen some great shows there, I have even appeared in a few! Really sad to see it all shut up, and the sign saying “temporarily closed” is beginning to look a bit out of date, given that it’s now almost 10 months since people have performed there. No list of upcoming shows and the only thing advertised is a “virtual pantomime”. Not sure how that’s going to work, but hopefully it will bring in a bit of - surely much needed - revenue.
Not a completely bleak picture though. Lights were on in the office, so somebody is at work - I’m guessing booking shows and acts for next year, as it will be important to have a programme ready to go as soon as it is allowed. Who knows - I might even be able to get back on stage myself at some point!
I have a feeling that, technically speaking, I shouldn’t have travelled to Lancaster as I think they’re in a different Tier to us. But I wasn’t planning on stopping long and only had a couple of shops to visit. Unfortunately we arrived at school chucking out time, so donned masks straight away because we felt uncomfortable amongst so many people at once.
The good news was that I got almost everything I wanted. And what they hadn’t got is now on order, thanks to the really helpful assistant in HMV. So I will have to make a return visit, but might leave it until the next time we go to Chester - then I can claim we were just passing through!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.