CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A smart robin

It was very grey today, and cold, cold, cold. I promised to pick up Helena after her morning job and take her to Cheltenham about 14 miles away, so she could easily get to her very occasional teaching job, which I'm sure she will describe in her blip today.

But I couldn't stop and explore Cheltenham which could have been a good place to explore with my lens. I had to go to an interview for a part time job in Stroud, so I had to drive straight back. I chose to return along the top of the Cotswold escarpment, rather than on the main road. Whilst ambling through the old wood at Cranham, I noticed a car warning light illuminated on the dashboard, showing a highlighted battery. I knew it wasn't urgent as I'd bought a new battery a month ago. It did however remind me that the car needed a service, and a rather significant part replacement, so as my route took me past our rather remotely located garage I stopped off and booked the car in.

I then drove just a few hundred yards further to the Bisley Farm Shop, where I regularly buy our vegetables and bird food. A very charming woman serves in the shop on Fridays and we had a good chat while I filled my basket with fresh leeks, potatoes, turnips, carrots, broccoli, fresh eggs from their yard and Cox's apples.

Suddenly a robin appeared, flying around the shop, which is actually a glorified and large shed attached to the farmyard. It landed on the other counter, where the woman had laid some bird food and happily pecked away whilst looking carefully around and about. It then flew up onto a low rafter to oversee proceedings, before flying to the back of the shop.

Apparently it has been visiting all winter and in previous years other robins have also been welcomed. I went outside to my car, grabbed the camera and managed about three shots before it then flew off out through the shed door and disappeared.

I love robins and took this picture of one visiting our garden bird feeder

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.