Tiny Squirrel

This fellow was a little bit smaller than the usual characters I see running around and he was so anxious to start eating his newly found nut that he stopped on a log very close to me.  I had the telephoto lens and this is uncropped.  They usually don't let me get this close, but he had his priorities.

I had to get some lab work done this morning for my annual checkup next week which will be virtual.  My appointment wasn't until 10:50 and it was to be a fasting specimen so by the time I was done, I was pretty famished......and there was Starbucks.  I have not been to a Starbucks in at least 10 months and I felt this terrible longing.  I pulled out my Starbucks app on my phone, ordered my cappuccino and croissant, put on my N95 mask and picked it up.  The pickup and time indoors probably took less than a minute.  When I came out, the sun was shining and there were no people in the plaza where there are tables and chairs so I parked myself at one of the tables and relished the flavors and the feeling of normalcy.  It was heaven. 

Then I went to a local lake and walked for a while to burn off that croissant.  It was cold but sunny and I was entertained by a Kingfisher, Hooded Mergansers, and this cute squirrel.  I thought this one would be suitable for Tiny Tuesday.  He's better in LARGE. 

Yesterday was a very exciting day as the Electoral College cast its votes and officially made Joe Biden President-Elect.  In my lifetime, no one has ever paid any attention to the electoral college process but this year it was a big deal and it was widely covered on television along with the first vaccine inoculations of health care workers all around the country.  Even though we still have a long, dark winter ahead, this is the first sign of real progress towards a return to normalcy.  That they could produce vaccines in a period of months instead of years is truly an amazing accomplishment.  Let's hear it for the scientists!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.