carliewired

By carliewired

Gifts to Wrap

For the quilters in
my life who need a place to
park their pins safely

~ carliewired

I've discovered in my quilting life that one can never have too many pincushions. 

There are the 'littles' that get carried to retreats and workshops. There are the 'dainties' that look pretty and prop on one's arm or finger. And there are the 'workhorses' that squat substantially beside one's sewing machine or by one's favourite chair. These two are the latter. 

They are formed from my most delicious cotton scraps. They are filled with crushed walnut shells making them hefty and sturdy. They are stitched on my sewing machine and hand-stitched closed. At several points in the construction, my arthritic hands and my waning eyesight have been challenged as well as my patience with my decreasing abilities. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.