Some more oldies

These little tree ornaments are probably as old as me, Mum acquired them when I was about 4 around the end of the war, along with a tree and other ornaments from a lady who had sadly lost her little girl (possibly to diphtheria) and couldn't bare to put up the tree and decorate it, so she gave it away to mum. They are very sturdy to say they are so old but I still treat them with care and always get them out every year and think of the little girl they belonged to.

It was another nice day today but apart from taking the dogs to St Aiden's and calling to pay a vet bill I forgot about (Mollys Urine sample fee) and to the library to pick up a book I ordered before the first lockdown I have been in the rest of the day. Stripped my bed and washed the bedding,

What a performance at the library. I went in to find 3 assistants (social distancing)
 "have you any covid symptoms" 
me "No" then I explained what I had called for. 
"Do you have a smart phone"
 me "err I don't think so"
 "Whats your name - phone number" I duly answered.
 "Your book will be over there" pointing
I set off in the direction she pointed
"sanitise your hands first"
me "I just have in the car as I've been shopping"
"well you have to do them again"
so I went back and duly sanitized them
Then eventually found my book
"Check it out at the machine" I was told
It was a new one and I didn't have my glasses so had to peer at it, with an assistant shouting which buttons to press.
I eventually made a hasty exit (after wishing one of the assistants who I have known for a long time A happy Christmas)
I don't think I will be going there again in a hurry. Last time I called for a book I had ordered it was in a paper bag, I just gave my name to the young man he brought the bag with it in put it on a table then stepped back for me to get it, it was already checked out for me. He told me when I returned it to put it in the box by the door.

It's been said Leeds might drop to tier 2 but I will believe it when it happens. Anyway most people won't take any notice what tier they are in from the way they are behaving. One of my neighbours seems to have had a stream of visitors today.

Thats it folks for now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.