Follow the Path

This photo is taken at one edge of our garden, looking out to the south. The exact edge of our land is unclear; such things are not so important here. The path leads up through a neighbour's forest to one of our so-called coffee spots - a large rock with a fine view over the valley, and lake, and beyond that more forest. It takes 5 minutes to get there, so you can make the coffee at home and walk up there to drink it.
I grew up in Wealdstone, part of Harrow in NW London. My family lived on a surburban street, in a long row of terraced houses. I was a fairly urban kid, though my friends and I would sometimes make the 30 minute walk to The Common, where we could swing on trees, build dams in the stream, and light fires.  
I would have been amazed (and happy) if someone had told me I'd later  live half my life on the edge of a Swedish forest!
Today's activity centred around the baking of my first batch of Stollen. I'd work on them for a while, pause to let the dough rest and do something else, continue on with the stollen until the next pause, and so on. Outdoor activity was collecting wood for our social fire on Midwinter's Eve. Indoor activity was stollen baking, yoga, eating, and an online political meeting.  Weather involved no sun, some dry periods and lots of rain. We hope for better weather tomorrow but as usual the forecast is for more of the same.
We made that path, and it's only our walking that keeps it there. I'll do my bit to keep it open tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.