Windy Miller

I woke up in the night, the bitter cold coming up through my mattress. There was a hint of a strange smell.

Cheesy socks? No.

Bad breath? I don't think so

Smelly shoes? B.O.? Iffy underwear?

Something worse? Surely I haven't reached that stage yet?

I turned the electric blanket on low and once warm managed to get back to sleep.

I was mightily relieved (poor choice of word) on leaving the house, when I realised the farmer had been muck-spreading yesterday and the wind has subsequently changed directiom. It was strong !!


This morning I stopped at Pitstone Windmill to take a couple of shots, but the light was very flat.

This afternoon I attended a business networking meeting and got to thinking that many peoples' surnames are derived from their ancestors' professions. This morning I met a Miller and a Farmer. This afternoon there were no Coopers, Fletchers, Smiths, Thatchers or Pargiters.

What surnames would be in vogue today if defined by profession?

There will be praizes for the best - naturally.

The Weekend is upon us and I've only just recovered from the last one.
Have fun, keep warm x


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.