Julehjerter

thank you for the sympathy and best wishes

This is a Julehjerter, a woven heart.


Three decades ago I went to Denmark for a semester. Half of my family comes from Denmark. While there I learned how to make these. Everyone was very excited about Christmas and insistent that I should stay for the holiday (ignoring of course that I had no place to stay and had a home to return to). I was taught how to make these so when I visited my grandmother I taught/reminded her and my great-aunt how to do it. They'd done it as children and enjoyed doing it again. 


My nephew got into college near us!!! He got into GWU and into the program he wanted. We'll take him to all sorts of restaurants, every cuisine in the world is here. (Ok, maybe not true, but close.)

I put the tree up last night. I'll hang ornaments over time. 

Yesterday it snowed a bit and then rained and then snowed just a touch. I wore my shoes with the special sole that helps you not slip on the ice (Artic Grip). I can now provide an endorsement. Last year we didn't have a winter so they didn't get tested. This morning I crept along, very carefully, and I was fine. Samuel's feet kept slipping (it was ok, he had three more to keep him up). The difference between my ability to walk and his was striking. If you think you might accidentally wind up walking on ice, get some shoes with Arctic Grip soles by Vibram. 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.