In flagrante

A Latin phrase translating literally as “in blazing”, often used with the additional word “delicto” (which means offence). These two chaffinches are committing no offence. Having watched their elaborate courtship dance with a number of matings included, I do believe that they were blazing, on heat, impassioned; choose your synonym. 

I had to go for a blood test this morning, and on the way back stopped at Western Springs Lake. In the morning. There were more birds to be seen, and many were less active than they seem to be in the evenings. 

My fortnightly rostered day off, today. But I had to field a number of telephone calls early this afternoon, in part due to being the on call DAMHS. I don’t feel able to ask the other two on the roster to cover this day for me when they already are on call every third week. Hopefully all will continue quietly this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.