Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A week until Christmas

It is such a dull day today, grey and drizzling/raining. Xena went out with P the dog walker, who also gave her a bag of lovely Christmas goodies, she is spoilt! While Xena was out walking I went to get groceries, I tried to buy as many things as I could for the Christmas dinner next week but most veggies still had best before dates of only 2 days ahead. It was noticeably busier, I am dreading next week when the car park is chaos and all manners seem to fly out the car window. 

Yesterday the plumber came to service the boilers and last night we had tepid water...and despite Gavin checking everything it was cold again this morning. So he has come back today to check the problem and he cannot fathom why the water is not getting hot - I really hope he can fix it but thankfully we have the emergency immersion switch although it is a very expensive way to heat water.

More gloom and doom with a Brexit deal looking unlikely and the Covid cases going up. I hope that people will be sensible and if they are in Tier 3 they do not drive down the road to Tier 2 so they can go out to pubs and restaurants. All of Surrey in in Tier 3 except a small area.

Adam comes home tomorrow, and it will only be our family of five for Christmas. I invited my niece, who has recently moved to the UK, for lunch during the allowed Christmas get together but she has wisely said no as her two year old has now started daycare and she is concerned about putting us at risk. I am sure we will go into the third lockdown after Christmas - sod's law, it always happens when I have a hairdresser appointment!

No outdoor photos today in this miserable weather so here is Xena looking very patient as she has the camera thrust in front of her yet again!

Tommy is cooking supper tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.