On-Line Christmas Party

I applied for a ticket to the Radio 3 In Tune Christmas Party, and succeeded in getting one.

On the radio for two hours, the first time the BBC has tried having a live virtual audience at an event. So whilst the radio audience were listening, 1200 of us were on Zoom watching.

The deal was that we were a real audience, so had to react to everything live. Headphones essential. The music a mixture of folk, jazz and classical, with lots of Christmas overlaying it.

To my surprise - I thoroughly enjoyed it. It actually felt like attending a live event. Which actually - was what I was doing. Swapped over with J a few times, who was listening on the radio, so she could experience “ being there”.

Well done the BBC engineers who sorted out the technology which made this work. I’ll have another listen on catch up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.