A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Art Deco Capital of the world.

Napier not only makes the claim above but it is probably the reason I have always wanted to come here.

When I was a child I would hear about Napier and New Zealand incidentally from my parents. Their best man, John, lived here, the father of my cousin. My mother corresponded with him and we would occasionally receive things like calendars with pictures of tattooed Maori and in particular a book about remote High country life by Mona Anderson, which I loved.

I knew nothing at the time of Napier's link with Art Deco but because it was destroyed in large part by earthquake in 1931 ( apart from the wooden buildings that escaped the subsequent fires) it was rebuilt in Art Deco style of the period and was largely completed within 2 years. ( Sadly, two years on, Christchurch cannot claim the same.)

I love Art Deco and Art Nouveau so it was wonderful to take a walking tour this afternoon to see and hear about the development of many of these buildings. Whilst of the same style there are many variations, some including Maori motifs, art nouveau, Mayen and Egyptian motifs. There are also some Spanish missionary style buildings here.

The main things were to widen the streets, as much land had been gained by the earthquake, corners were splayed to improve visibility for cars; most buildings were no more than two levels; and all verandas, to protect shop goods from the sun, were at the same level. Bamks and other service buildings had no verandas.
As PaulaJ said I have taken lots of photos here so what better than a picture of our hotel.
This is the side entrance, the front faces the Marine Parade and has a long veranda onto which our room opens. Small rooms but great ambience and food. It is in it's third incarnation being one of the first buildings to reopen in 1932. Previous building were destroyed by fire as well as earthquake.

I have not been disappointed with my visit here.

We could have gone to see Barry Gibb and Carole King here tonight, if we knew how to get to the hill above the mission we could have heard it for free. Not sure we can be bothered though Carole King would be good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.