Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Heavens!

I am now officially cat-sitting. I don't think I have ever cat-sat before, though I seem to remember that when I was very small I was given responsibility for taking care of the guinea-pigs at number 14. I don't think any of them died on my watch.

I'm hoping that at some point Rogue will feel brave enough to creep out from beneath my neighbour's couch, but if he doesn't, you can assume Julez' Minstrel or Veronica's Mystère as a template.

I needed to venture out today despite the toxicity of Medway's “Worst-on-the-Planet” Covid rating and I turned my back on the Panic-Buying freight-container tailbacks on the M20 because surely they will still be there ready & waiting for tomorrow's blip.

Instead I spotted this lovely little china doll-head in the front window of the unlikeliest of all “community-welfare” shops.
I'm so tempted to buy it so that I can sew a cuddly pram-toy sort of body for it from calico & kapok.
And maybe later make it some outfits.
The same shop window is also running a “build-a-bear” scheme where you can create a teddy and put it in a party-frock, all for a tenner.
I don't see why a bearded dolly might be considered out of the ordinary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.