New reality day 145

No news yet regarding my dad.

I hope at some point he'll have his new phone and I can try calling him.

I did some baking today. Some cleaning, laundry... Normal day off getting things done. Taking the dogs out ect... Nothing special to journal.

We started to watch El Cid on Amazon. "Rodrigo Díaz de Vivar ( 1043 – 10 July 1099) was a Castilian knight and warlord in medieval Spain. The Moors called him El Cid, which meant the Lord, and the Christians, El Campeador, which is idiomatically translated as "the Master of the Battlefield" in Old Spanish. He was born in Vivar del Cid, a village near the city of Burgos. Díaz de Vivar became well known for his service in the armies of both Christian and Muslim rulers, his exile, and his temporary conquest of Valencia, which became independent for a brief period in the Reconquista. After his death, El Cid became Spain's celebrated national hero and the protagonist of the most significant medieval Spanish epic poem, El Cantar de Mio Cid.

To this day, El Cid remains a Spanish popular folk-hero and national icon, with his life and deeds remembered in plays, films, folktales, songs and video games." - wikipedia

We lived in Comunitat Valenciana and El Cid was all around in names. We've also visited so many castles and wondered how they use to live in those days. This show makes it all so real. All those Arab names from the medieval time that are still names of the cities and villages and people.

Picture from the neighborhood. Another set of lovely lights for all of us to enjoy.

Edit

I talked to my dad. He's got the prepaid now. He was almost bubbly. He's transferred to normal ward tomorrow. He's got his own nurse 24/7. Has no pain so the medication is good. And they ask all the time if he needs anything more. So he's in good hands. I'll talk to him again after work tomorrow. (He asked me to buy my son another Christmas gift from my work. Which I of course will happily do. I think he's "drunk on being alive". Which is a brilliant feeling.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.