More neglected than derelict.

Mr Happy & I are celebrating 40 years of marital bliss today ..... summed up beautifully by the message in his card to me  ...... "Who would have thought we would make it through another year without killing each other". I must add mind reader to his list of credentials .. lol!!!
The day started well, I could'nt remember where I'd hidden his card. Phew!!! I must stop doing that. Found it before we went out for lunch at The Phoenix in Chudleigh. We both had the roast beef, huge amount of beautifully cooked (rare-ish) beef & lovely selection of vegetables, & crispy Yorkie BUT why put sage & onion stuffing plus a sausage wrapped in bacon on the plate. Call me a boring traditionalist but Yorkies go with beef ONLY, the stuffing plus pigs in blankets with turkey or chicken. Rant over!!!!  I asked for the meat to be popped in a container to bring home. A child's portion roast would probably have suited us both. Plenty of space between diners, only 9 covers, but with the front & back doors open it was a tad chilly. Plenty of takeaway orders being collected, so they do have some trade. 2 pubs in the town don't serve any food so have been closed for quite awhile now. There were customers dining that were staying at Finlake Holiday Lodges .. Should they even be there??

Oh my goodness! A plane in the sky. Nearly as rare as hen's teeth.

Thanks to Marlieske for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.