Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Result!

The phone went in the middle of night. Always hate that - it must be bad news. Just as well, as it turned out, it wasn't the middle of the night, but 7.50am. It was my Virgin Media man coming to check out my box.

I must say, this lot are pretty efficient. I had a charming artist last time. This time it was Vincent, who was a keen gardener. He left South Africa to come and live in Scotland. Why- Did he have connections? No. Because he always wanted to and his mum said he'd never do it. So he did. He sorted out my Tivo box over a cup of tea.

Part of the problem was that the storage is almost full. The Tivo box takes it upon itself to 'make suggestions' and will record programmes it 'thinks' you might like. If I watch Have I Got New For You it might record every episode of Mock the Week, which I hate. And because I watch Channel 4 News, it has been recording it every day, even though I watch it. Is that not a bit very annoying?

But that got me up and out early. As there is an afternoon of rugby to watch, I thought I'd go out and get an early blip. I had some bread left. Is it just me, or when you don't have white bread toast for a while it's a REAL TREAT. We had toasted BLATs last night. Without the L. And this morning we had avocado on toast. I took the rest of the loaf with me and popped down to the pond.

There was a young couple already there, feeding the swans and ducks, so I was able to snap away and listen in. They were just on a first date, I think. Sweet. Then along came families and toddlers with their plentiful supply of bread. Their chat was all about the massive hangovers from a recent wedding. Then they went off to 'look for Gruffalos'.

I took loads of photos. Mostly of swans just floating about, bickering. I loved watching the wee tufted ducks and tried again to get a shot of them diving, or better still, emerging. Impossible. They are feisty wee things - nipping in and out between the swans but keeping out of bother.

I always hate to leave, as I know something dramatic will then happen. I sat down on a rock for a last look. And I got this one. The very last shot. Success!

AND I came home without having to give away the bread, so I'm going to have white bread toast and jam while I watch the rugby this afternoon. RESULT!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.