Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

New hat

A cold wet windy day. Good excuse to stay inside and relax! Although I did have good intentions of going out in the wind to try out my new hat, which is like a woolly helmet, with ear flaps and a tie under my chin. And a bit sticking out of the top - though not a pom pom! It does make one look extremely ridiculous, but I see plenty of people out in silly, but warm, hats.

I re-sent my bulk snarky email to the Scottish Power Execs, with a bit added about yesterday’s letter headed, somewhat ironically,

‘Welcome to peace of mind with Home Comfort’

I pointed out the fact that I wasn’t welcomed to Home Comfort, as they don’t seem to have my account. This was in red font, lest they didn't notice the new information. I had decided not to send any more annoying emails, but wait for their reply within '15 working days’… Then I thought No - I will. I felt a bit furtive, like that chap in House of Cards, accessing the Deep Web and doing illegal things on computers.

I threw the tulips out today. :-(

After I’d taken more photos of even more withering, of course. In fact, I even when put them in the rubbish bag, I couldn’t resist taking even more photos. But I’ll spare you.

These are gerboras. Bent double gerberas. It seems the house is full of hauf deid flooers. (I was at the Barras Market many decades ago and one chap was yelling out 'Hauf deid flooers - 20p!) I used my handy flip out screen and looked up at them. One or two are still upright. They may have to join the tulips in the rubbish bag...

The thought of trotting off to the afternoon movies was soon dismissed in favour of the big screen at home, sans coughers, rustlers, sniffers, talkers… and indeed, with an OFF switch if it’s rubbish. Or a fast forward if it’s too slow. Perfect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.