Time for Comfort Foods

I don't know about you, but snow makes me very hungry. Shoveling it makes me hungry. Even sitting just watching it snow makes me hungry. So with winter here, it's the time of year for very nice side dishes and comfort foods, for those who shovel do get to eat!

There was plenty of snow on the ground and we were snug as two bugs in a rug. And then I made some mac and cheese, and it turned out really well. I started with my standard upgraded Kraft mac 'n cheese recipe, and at my husband's request, I crunched up some potato stix and included them in the crispy topping.

The result was better than usual, and we dug in like a pair of starving people. With some buttered toast and as much mac and cheese as we wanted to eat (and we ate plenty), as Goldilocks might say, it was just right.

I wanted a song for comfort foods, so here is one with comfort in the title. You've heard it before because it is a tune I love and include every chance I get: Roger Waters and Eddie Vedder, with Comfortably Numb, from the 12-12-12 concert for Hurricane Sandy relief.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.