A Walk in the Snowy Woods

The truth about any decent sized winter storm is that, if you own a house, you will spend the first day or two simply shoveling out. THEN you may start thinking about other things, like going for a walk in the snow, or going skiing, or for a sled ride.

So it was that the weekend finally found us heading into the local woods to check out the snow. We are fortunate that there is a gameland, the Scotia Barrens, within a 15-minute walk from our front door. Without even moving a car, we can go there on foot.

My husband had on his down jacket, which, by the time we were done, was way too toasty for him. Likewise, I was overdressed, but I had layers on, and by the time we had gone up and down the first hill, I removed a heavy vest and stuffed it into my daysack for safe keeping.

We encountered unbroken snow in spots, which was very nice. I love nature pictures, but I find from time to time that I like a human figure in the scene. So my husband, usually leading the way, is sometimes the focus of such photos. In this picture, he heads out for a walk in the snowy woods, and I follow. . . . Oh yes, I always follow.  :-)

The soundtrack song, of course, is this one: U2, with I Will Follow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.