Dexter: We Should Be Sleeping

Now that the days are short and the nights are at their darkest and longest, Dexter has turned into a lap-seeking missile. If you sit down even for a few minutes, he is ON THE LAP! We joke that my husband's lap, in particular, is the most coveted piece of real estate on our acre. Both Dexter and the Little Gray Kitty are quick to find his lap any time he takes a chair.

In the evenings, though, it is blankie time. My husband and I often watch movies and shows on the TV in the master bedroom. He sits on the sturdy Penn State captain's chair that I received at 25 years of employment. I sit on the bed, with a blanket over me. Dexter is quick to crawl under or on top of the blanket, between my feet. (This blanket, which I got from my sister, may have been made by my maternal grandmother.) This is how we spend our evenings: snug together.

We had just settled in for our evening, when I looked down and saw Dexter being very cute. I asked my husband to run for the camera and he did. Dexter woke up and stretched prettily for my photo. "We should be sleeping," it seemed like he wanted to say. And then he rolled back over and went to sleep!

The soundtrack is this classic 80s tune by Eddie Money: We Should Be Sleeping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.