Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Conjunction over Vergettes Wood

In the late afternoon I went to Etton-Maxey for the sunset, starlings and to see the conjunction of Jupiter and Saturn (which is at its closest on Monday when it's likely to be raining).  As I arrived the sun slipped behind a spectacular anvil-shaped cloud, and only re-appeared very briefly before dropping over the horizon. The starlings were mostly distant, but produced some beautiful ribbon-like waves, though there wasn't really enough light to photograph them. More cloud bubbled up, blocking the site where the planets were, so I admitted defeat and headed back to the car in the gathering gloom. But as I walked along the Maxey Cut, I was thrilled to see a barn owl hunting, and as I reached the car, which was parked near Vergettes Wood, I spotted Jupiter and Saturn. I headed back along the bridleway and spent a magic five minutes admiring them before heading home just before 5 o'clock.

As I drove home I heard the news that Peterborough was going into Tier 4, having been in Tier 2 on Friday and Tier 3 on Saturday. As usual, the government's approach has been a mess and has managed to cause the maximum distress. We should probably have been in Tier 3 weeks ago, which might have helped control the recent spread which has mostly been in four secondary schools and two care homes. The government wouldn't allow the schools to be shut a week early to try and control transmission, so thanks to their ineptitude many people are going to have their Christmas plans ruined. Thankfully it won't make much difference to us - we'd planned to hunker down anyway, as it was clear which way the wind was blowing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.