Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Comfort And Joy To You All

When I do a blip of the year's Christmas card, I create a little still-life around it standing on the sideboard. (No! Not me standing on the sideboard, that would be silly. The Card!) This time I thought it might be fun to more-or-less recreate the still life of the card set up a couple of weeks ago for a blip. Have this one as my Christmas greeting to you!
 
"God rest ye merry gentlemen
Let nothing you dismay
Remember Christ our saviour
Was born on Christmas Day
To save us all from Satan's pow'r
When we were gone astray
Oh tidings of comfort and joy
Comfort and joy
Oh tidings of comfort and joy"

One of the oldest carols known, dating back to the 15th Century. I chose the title of this carol to put on my card. I didn't think I had any tidings of comfort or joy to offer, particularly and we may think there's little comfort around or anything to be joyous about just now. BUT, we have to feel glad. We're all well enough to be here reading each other's stories today and sharing news with our Blipmates. We're fortunate enough to have our cameras, phones and computers that keep us in touch with those we love.

I found this rendition of it on YouTube which I hadn't heard before it made me smile.

After yesterday's news I fully expected the cancelation of our Christmas lodge booking so it came as no shock! At least I had a holiday this year, they hadn't been away since they came to us last Christmas and have now booked Christmas 2021 with us.

I've got my tree put up at last!
Have a lovely, safe Christmas wherever you are. xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.