Sprout lover

By robharris35

Bubble burst

Is Diana Ross alive or dead? This was one of Hannah’s first questions this morning when Chain Reaction chimed from the radio as she made porridge. These days we’re firmly in Radio 2 territory with a mutual love for Sara Cox. I’ve also been advised to listen to Liza Tarbuck on a Saturday evening and informed that when Graham Norton moves on (today was his last show) that Claudia Winkleman is taking over his slot. Best news ever: she is hilarious.

I repeat the statement that this area of East Devon is simply lovely. The weather today pleasantly surprised us so we explored cliff paths, pebbly beaches, waves, rocks, cute villages and harbours. At Axmouth some surfers were braving the waves in wetsuits and Han and I disagreed that wetsuits are always unflattering. I argue that if the body of a sculpted Adonis is being squeezed into one, it’s not an unappealing view.

Seaton is the kind of town that has one of everything: one stationery shop, one dentist, one Indian restaurant, one massive Tesco that has drained the life out of the town centre. There is one outdoor clothing shop where we browsed and made purchases even though I was tempted not to spend my dosh there when the woman at the counter was disparaging the Black Lives Matter movement when we walked in.

It had been a wonderful day until BoJo’s latest announcement created chaos for pretty much everyone in the country. There ensued a rapid re-drawing of Christmas plans to ensure adherence to the guidance. During the press conference I’m surprised that none of the journalists asked for more details on how people who rely on public transport are supposed to do a one-day visit to see family on a day when there are no buses or trains. I imagine cabinet members setting these rules don’t spare much thought for people who don’t have their own car.

Another evening chat was with Helena, the landlady of the flat I rent in Maputo. We’ve been discussing my prolonged absence and whether everything in there is covered in cockroaches. She did an inspection and then wrote to me, ‘you won’t believe what I’ve found in the apartment’. When she enlightened me further it was through photos of dirt, spiders’ webs and manky tea towels. She says she will visit more regularly and fumigate it before my arrival, whenever that may be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.