Combi31

By Combi31

Kingfisher

Today it was freezing cold - I think everywhere ...

I set out to get a shot of a kingfisher, arriving at the lake where it was -2°c but -12°c with the wind chill factor.

I walked for about 6 km around the lake, seeing lots of kingfishers flashing by, before finding a cabin type thing used by fishermen on the river bank.

Inside it had a bench, so I settled down with a flask of tea and within minutes, a kingfisher sat on a branch not 6 meters from me - at fist it took a while to realise what was happening - the cold surely dulling my senses.

I managed to get a few shots, but they are not very good as the photos is taken through the fine mesh that the fishermen had put up on the sides of their shelter, presumably to keep mosquitos at bay.

I waited for a couple of hours and got some sots of a kingfisher catching fish from a branch opposite me, but unfortunately they are all blurry, due, I think to a dodgy filter bought on Ebay.

While I was lying in wait, it snowed ...

I will be back ... sans filter ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.