The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

The Minstrel and the Prophet

 

Patchwork Quilts: #4 in my attempt to bridge the gap between the picture and a thousand words.

 

As pictured here – today's inspirations. Richard Braughtigan – he could weave as fine a tale in a very small space as any I've read. Bob Dylan – well Dylan is Dylan. An acoustic guitar - I was intrigued when I learned that “Norwegian Wood” was inspired to some degree by a random thought about Dylan in the age of electric guitars. A camera – just about the right vintage for capturing a folk music moment in the age of electric guitars. So, what do you get when you mix them all together? My own random thought while noodling with a chord progression I liked the feel of – "I wonder what would happen if Dylan and Homer collaborated to write a folk song based on the Odyssey".

Probably not this, but I did anyway.



The Prophet and the Minstrel

 
The line has been drawn, the curse has been cast,
The moon has blocked out the sun.
The first they say will later be last
When the human race has been run.

 (chorus)
  The prophet and the minstrel whisper in my ear,
  A song so cold it hurts me to hear,
  A dream that will haunt me for many a year,
  And so goes the life of a sailor.

 
Monsters lie in wait, the sea rages deep,
Battles are won and are lost.
Standing watch while old heroes sleep,
Dreams of home set the course.

 (chorus)
  The prophet and the minstrel whisper in my ear,
  A song so cold it hurts me to hear,
  A dream that will haunt me for many a year,
  And so goes the life of a sailor.

 
Have you heard the stories of brave ancient ships,
Did the poet give rime to our roaming,
Did he whisper the secrets of mystical trips,
And the legend of bloody home coming.

(chorus)
  The prophet and the minstrel whisper in my ear,
  A song so cold it hurts me to hear,
  A dream that will haunt me for many a year,
  And so goes the life of a sailor.

    And so goes the life of a sailor ...

Thank you again for your patience as I wander quite so far afield. For words and pics and support I can't think of a better place in such unsettled times. Be safe. Be kind. Care.  ... and the adventure continues.

 



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.