A most barbarous country

Here moss grown trees expand the smallest leaf,
Here half an acre's corn is half a sheaf,
Here hills, with naked heads, the tempest meet,
Rocks at their sides, and torrents at their feet;
Of lazy lakes , unconscious of a flood
where dull brown naiads ever sleep in mud,
Yet here content can dwell. (Parnel)

After a bit of a grizzle yesterday back on form today though the news is even worse! I managed to go out for a walk in between heavy rain (yellow rain warning now in effect) and it was actually really enjoyable. The rain was not the terribly wet kind and all sorts of interesting light and colours were going on out at sea. Wonderfully still too, just an abundance of sea birds - oyster catchers, an egret, a large heron, cormorants, a curlew and my favourite winter visitors, the great northern divers ( 3 spotted). Lots of kelp washed up in the recent high tides and what remarkable colours.

Earlier I had done chores and then rewarded myself with a bit of well work I should have been making mince pies. This might be  along story, make yourselves a cuppa. Yesterday I had been thrilled to discover a new holy lake in Cork that I hadn't heard of. It came complete with mysterious moving islands and tons of blessed fish, the pilgrims taking bucketfuls of bread to feed them with. All I had was the name of the lake and that it was in County Cork. The name no longer existed so some feverish research was indulged in - my favourite pastime! Hours later having travelled back through various antiquarian notes I ended up on Twitter where someone I follow on Instagram pondered a similar question back in 2016. And someone knew of the lake and had provided a townland! More research and I have now located said lake which is called something completed different today and not too far away. Its now mostly filled in but the shape is very clear from aerial photos. Will I have time to go and see it before the next travel ban kicks in - St Stephens Day I should be making mince pies.
Anyway, whilst researching I got back as far as 1774 when one Charles Smith was riding around Ireland writing down what he encountered, He visited the lake and mentioned the fish and the ignorant peasantry (sigh)  and then I got distracted even further wondering what he had to say about the Sheep's Head. He described it thus: a most barbarous country! However he did include the poem that I started with so I think it was a sort of compliment, and I will agree with that.

Now, those mince pies ....!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.