First day of winter

It was pouring rain all night and early morning. About 7am, before I'd opened the curtains, I looked outside and thought the ground looked white. It was barely light, but yes - it was snowing, heavily!  The rain changed to snow so suddenly it took me by surprise. Around 8:30am, I took a few photos, this triple exposure included, through the windows. It snowed all day, wet heavy snow, no fun to shovel. So we didn't. 
The power went out just after noon and came back on around 7:30pm. I didn't go outside all day, unusual for me, and I didn't even get dressed! Our neighbours knocked on the door around 10am. I was hesitant to answer because I was still in my robe and hadn't combed my hair. They were surprised, and Jean remarked that I'm usually back from my walk by that time. They were just heading out for one of their three daily walks and stopped to drop off some homemade cookies. Jean got the recipe from a Scottish neighbour of theirs when she was younger, ginger cookies, my favourite. She's such a good cook and baker. What a treat! So now they know what I look like before I get ready for the day - and they said I looked good!  The best of neighbours.  Ha!
Luckily I made a supper in the morning that just had to be reheated at night, so we put the pot on the wood stove and ate by candlelight. G didn't bother to start up the generator. By the time we cleaned up and the power was back, I just didn't feel like looking at photos. So this is a backblip. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.