WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Misty morning

... but the sun was shining through. I dashed out to catch the mist but ended up trying and failing to focus on the spiders' webs. Extra for plane trees in mist again. The mist soon burned off and it stayed sunny all day, so we went for a walk in the afternoon.

Gradually getting there with the computer. I installed a 2-month free trial of Lightroom CC and was promptly taken aback by the absence of any way of applying keywords to photos, something I rely on extensively. I couldn't believe they'd removed this useful feature, but yes they have. Along with smart collections, replaced with albums that you have to set up manually. 

Instead they use a system of artificial intelligence to provide keyword searching. An Adobe tutorial on this showed how searching for "water" retrieved photos of rain, rivers, a distant waterfall that just happened to be in the background, and a kitchen sink. Oh, and at least one photo with no water in it at all, gaily acknowledged by the presenter while saying it was still pretty clever. This system means searching your own photos requires an Internet connection. Marvellous. 

However the trial also included the latest version of Lightroom Classic. So I installed that and it works pretty much like the old version. But as far as I understand you still have to pay a subscription, even though it's installed on your computer and you are not using the included cloud storage. Hmm. I have a couple of months to figure out what to do. I really like Lightroom, both for the photo management tools and the ease of use for processing photos. But I'm not keen on being held hostage by Adobe. I'd switch to Affinity, but it has no photo organising tools at all. Suggestions welcome!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.