wrperry

By wrperry

My Winter Buddies

I've been spending quite a bit of time with the White-throated Sparrows this fall/winter.  It seems anywhere I go with my camera, they are waiting for me.  I'm happy when they select a seasonal branch or background, and pause for a second or two before flitting away.  I also spotted two Red-tailed Hawks, neither of which was close enough for a portrait.  I did add one as an extra, since, although far away, was clearly busy with a fresh catch, which on closer inspection was some type of bird.

(Update:  My blip friend DBifulco, who I consider an expert on all things bird, has identified my "hawk" as a falcon, specifically a Merlin.  I'm very excited, as I've never photographed one before.  Thanks, Debbi!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.