Stuart Robertson

By StuartRobertson

Reid Headstone

Just found out today that my Journal entry of Batman has been selected for the forthcoming book and exhibition to showcase every aspect of Scottish creativity and mark the Year of Creative Scotland.

The weather was overcast this morning but it finally cleared in the afternoon. After dropping my wife off in town, I decided to drive up to Kilmacolm.

In the next issue of the Mackintosh Society Newsletter we are covering the restoration of the Reid headstone situated in the Kilmacolm Cemetery. Charles Rennie Mackintosh designed the gravestone for James Reid the Telegraphic Superintendent of the Glasgow and South West Railway. Reid was the father-in-law of William Davidson, who was Mackintosh's client for Windyhill in Kilmacolm. Davidson is buried next to Reid. The headstone had become overgrown and discoloured and was generally in a poor condition.

The inscription on the stone reads:

Erected by
Margaret Henry
Reid in
remembrance of her
husband James Reid
Born 29 Aug 1837 Died 4 Oct 1897
Telegraphic Suppt G&SWRY
Margaret Henry
Reid died
13th July 1907 Aged 71

They have done a fantastic job in restoring the headstone. I love the Art Nouveau lines of this image, I hope you like it. I have also included some other images on my Blipfolio. Let me know which one you prefer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.