Desperately seeking

By clickychick

In The Bleak Midwinter

In the bleak midwinter I went out to collect our turkey and some other groceries from our local farm shop down this lane. I had expected a long queue but there were only a few customers and I got served immediately. 

As I was leaving I pulled over onto the verge on the left to take this photo in the sleety rain. I was getting my camera out when another lady stopped to ask me if I was alright, thinking I may have car trouble. I thought that was very nice, in these times when we are being so careful to avoid contact with others, that she wanted to help.

It isn't a favourite carol of mine, but then the words have such clarity and it's lovely to hear it sung. I do admire the poetry of Christina Rossetti. She published it in 1872 and Gustav Holst composed the music in 1906

In the bleak mid-winter
Frosty wind made moan;
Earth stood hard as iron,
Water like a stone;
Snow had fallen, snow on snow,
Snow on snow,
In the bleak mid-winter
Long ago.

This winter, this whole year may have seemed as bleak as it could ever be. I'm thankful for a roof over my head, a warm home, plenty to eat and lovely people around and I have my good health.

I saw a couple of friends this morning to wish them a Merry Christmas and managed to get the marzipan on the Christmas cakes tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.