Chimney Sweeper

I couldn't tell you how many times I've walked or driven past this spot without the faintest idea that this sign existed. Goes to show that as we develop as photographers our eyes open more and more.

I'm trying to be a bit more reflective about my own (and others') photography, so:

What I like about this picture: The old sign (that's what grabbed my attention first, but it takes a while to really see it), the mixture of old and new, the texture in the brick and sign, the repetitive patterns of the windows (but slightly different curtains and blinds) on the tenement, the slight hill giving the street a slant and even squinter bollard, the lighter tones as you go towards the sky but without any sky in shot and the girl in the skirt walking purposfully past the dress shop.

What I don't like so much: The wide angle distored the shot which I have corrected a bit, but its never perfect, the loss of detail in the windows at the top (trade off for texture in the brick and retaining the lighter tones as shot).

Edit: Forgot to say Happy Birthday to Mrs B

- - - - -

LTOD: Aaronvanvalen's blip of Sy on a train - great colours, composition and a cheeky smile and Nik.b's blip of a laundry - great thoughtful composition. A picture with a meaning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.