A long day

I was up really early today to get to my appointment with the nephrologist.  It was a good visit - I liked the doctor and he provided a lot of helpful information.  He is less worried by my low numbers than I am, since he is able to look at several things he considers together, and his primary recommendation was that I worry less about the potassium and phosphorus and focus more on my diabetes.  That is an enormous relief - I can have tomatoes in my cooking again, which adds flavor without the salt.  I can even have a banana now and then.  He's sending me for a kidney ultrasound and several different lab tests that haven't been done before.  I feel that I'm in good hands.  Lex came with me and asked good questions and took notes.

Then we all went down to Manda and Andrew's home to have Christmas Eve dinner with Sarah and Nick, her fiance.  The boys were a bit stressed by having so many adults there, but held up pretty well. As usual I got to feed and sing to them.  It was a delicious dinner, topped off by a trifle made by Nick who likes to cook.  We also exchanged gifts.  The main blip is Doug playing with a fussy Sam while Max looks on.  Doug's in one of the Extras, and there's Andrew with Max, and Manda feeding the twins.

I came home to find that Minkelina was nowhere to be seen.  After a while she squeaked a few times and came into the living room, stood there and then went back under the bed.  It's clear she's feeling worse by the day and there's nothing I can do to help her feel better.  I'm holding out hope that when the vet comes on Saturday he finds that what is wrong is something that can be treated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.