Ice Coated

Early doors, temperatures were well into the negative region and didn't get much better. A bitter wind and bright sun seemed to have kept the water open, allowing waves to blow in across the last ten feet or so of ice along the shore. Frozen spray had covered the rocks in a treacherous layer of ice.

In the shadow the light was quite blue, presumably reflecting the sky, but in the light, the ice sparkled and warm colours of the rocks beneath showed through.

I had to shield the lens with my body in the vicious wind to avoid camera movement. At this low angle with the lens fully extended for reach, I could not keep sharpness throughout in one shot, even at f18. I took four shots at f8 and blended manually in PS, fairing better than my previous attempts at focus stacking.

Extra: Crystalline.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.