Transitoire

By Transitoire

Job Interviews, Journeying, Old Friends

Follow your dreams, or you'll spend the rest of your life working for someone who did.

Today was interview day, to an early start followed by a four hour drive to the place of interview. Luckily my wonderful parents decided to both take the day off to accompany me so I wouldn't have to drive and I could concentrate on what I would be saying in the interview.

So what was the job? Well, a job for a company providing luxury holidays at various sites around France, although focused mainly in the Vendee region. They were looking for bilingual people to be able to both speak to the customers, and the other staff on-site if anything went wrong. So on arrival I had a massive questionnaire form to fill in on all aspects of the job, including a translation test (which I was definitely not prepared for!).

Words I learnt today:-
- Fusées - rockets
- Petards - firecrackers

Yes, don't even ask what the context was!

So then I had around two hours of interview after that, and I'm not going to lie...it was pretty hard! But I am pleased to day...I got the job!! This now means I get to stay in France, well, the South of France, for the entirety of the summer until the middle of September! It does mean I have to leave Caen earlier than I wanted, but at the same time...I now have something definite that will take me through to September and let me carry on learning and enjoying French. And the interviewers did say in an almost slip of the tongue "Well, it is your holiday too!" Hopefully it will be fun...hard work I know, but a lot of fun! Watch this space!

To break up the journey on the way back up my day got better and better. Not only did I get a job, but I also got to see my best friend from university for a meal out! Absolutely brilliant to see her, and so great to catch up! This is of course a picture of her...and being notoriously camera-shy, it took me a while to get a nice photograph, but eventually she stopped focusing on the lens in front of her face. Was strange to see the house without me in it, but we soon went out to The Clarendon with my parents for a lot of wine (well J2O for Dad, sorry!) and some great food. Going to be strange not to see her again until September...but hopefully if she can find the flights she will be coming out to Caen to visit me for the student festival at the end of March. Really hope that she can make it!

After we had the awesome meal (wildebeest burger with chorizo and haloumi for me...yes, it was as good as it sounds!) my parents and I headed up on the long journey back to Southport. Finally we got home, and everyone fell straight into bed.

Awesome, but tiring day. The best of times I would say!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.