DERELICT SUNDAY

Our service this morning was on Facebook and at 10.59 I was beginning to panic a little because I couldn’t access it, but eventually managed and we were only a couple of minutes late - very unlike me, I usually like to be early!  It was a good service with a couple of familiar carols - though not as many as I would have liked!  

Having made some sandwiches earlier, after the service we headed off to find some dereliction.  When I had taken Mr. HCB to the hospital last week for his eye examination, because I couldn’t go in with him, I drove up through Wroughton, and took the Elcombe road when I came across this site so having seen the derelict car that was where we headed back to today.

I had to creep in through the open gate, just in case there was anyone around, although it looked pretty quiet - and you will be pleased to know I didn’t do any rearranging!  In fact, this shot is SOOC.

Job done, we went back to the main road, parked in a lay-by and ate our sandwiches, looking out over the Wiltshire countryside - it was a beautiful, sunny day and we could see for miles, so we spent sometime recognising various landmarks.  The only thing that upset us was the amount of rubbish in the lay-by and most of it was next to a rubbish bin!  I would have collected it up, but with things as they are thought that wasn’t such a good idea.

Thank you all so much for your kind comments for my Christmas Day Nativity and for yesterday’s Silly Saturday blip - sorry I didn’t get round to responding.  I was thrilled yesterday to receive a call from our younger son, but not so thrilled that it was at 1 o’clock in the morning - he is now 5 hours behind us and said he forgot!  Then our older son popped round and we went out for a physically distanced walk in the drizzle - it was good to see him but now we are in Tier 3, not sure when he will be round again.  

We hope everyone had a good Christmas - take care, keep well and stay safe.  With every good wish to you all from both of us.

“Christmas is not as much about
     opening our presents as
          opening our hearts.”
Janice Maeditere

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.