8 YEARS AND COUNTING!

When I started this journey way back in 2013, I never dreamt I would still be here eight years later, having posted a Blip without missing a single day, without back-blipping and also taking or making the photograph on the very day.  Of course, some shots are an amalgamation of others, as is today’s but they are always finished off, faffed around with or fartnarkled on the actual day, to fit in with the ethos of Blip.

I know that some people think it’s just about the photograph, but for me, it’s also about the journal entry and I love thinking of words to write and once I get an idea in my head, the words just seem to flow from that.  It helps that I am still a very fast typist so it doesn’t take long to get them from my head, to my fingers, and onto the page.

I enjoy looking for a quote every day too - one that matches the photograph or the thoughts I have had - sometimes it’s quite a challenge and other times it’s easy, but it’s good to have the internet, which makes things a lot easier - although I do have a lot of books with quotes - gifts from different friends over the years.

So today’s Blip, my 2,920th consecutive one, shows the various Blipmeets that I have been privileged to attend or hosted in our home and garden over these eight years.  These haven’t all been in Swindon, where we live, but have been all over the country from north to south and even to Guernsey and Hong Kong, where Mr. HCB and I have had the good fortune to stay with fellow Blippers.  

Many Blippers have become friends, and numerous and varied cards and gifts have arrived from time to time - and I have sent gifts to various parts of the world - I think the knitted fingerless gloves have probably travelled the furthest!  This is such a friendly community and the friendships made are wonderful and enriching.  I often ring Blip friends and even FaceTime with others, which is great and has been something to look forward to during these difficult and challenging times during the last nine months. 

This year, we were due to go to Canada to meet up with a Blip friend who no longer blips, but still pops in and out of my journal from time to time, and we were also going to stay with another Blip friend at St. George, near Las Vegas - but sadly, neither of these trips took place - and who knows if they will next year?  We hope so, but time will tell.

I must pay tribute to my wonderful model, Mr. HCB, who is almost as well known, or even better known than I, here on Blip.  I couldn’t have done all this without him and I am so pleased that he has embraced the ethos of Blip as much as I have.  It has given us something we can do together in our retirement and although he sometimes grumbles and keeps muttering about his fees going up, I know he’s quite happy to have his own “little following” as has my “pink robe” and “Mr. HCB’s famous hat” - he was even recognised when wearing it by another Blipper at our local Waitrose!

So thank you to everyone who reads my sometimes lengthy journal entry - I do try to make them interesting - and I especially want to thank all those I have met over the years.  I did have other Blipmeets planned, but again, these have had to be put on hold.  However, I pray that 2021 will be a better year so I look forward with hope and backward with a grateful heart for all those I have actually met in person.  

Some interesting statistics on this auspicious occasion, which I can see because I am a full member:  2920 entries, 752,814 views, 394 Followers - 63% of whom are in the UK, the rest spread over the world, 227 Following, 55% in the UK - so 45% in the rest of the world, 55,900 miles travelled, with 57% of entries geotagged, 10 awards and 17 milestones reached.  

I do try and “spread the word” about Blip to those I meet, and often spoke about it on the radio programme I took part in and especially if someone sees me taking what could be termed a “strange” photograph and like to think I have “sown a seed” in someone’s mind about taking a photograph every day.  I am so grateful to be part of this wonderful, caring and warm-hearted community, so THANK YOU, EVERYONE.  

“Interest and enthusiasm are the wellspring 
     of continually evolving community life: 
they create bonds which unite us 
     whether we are young or old, 
          nearby or far from each other; 
they allow human warmth and love 
     to be the formative forces in personal 
          and community life and striving.” 
Henning Hansmann -
Education for Special Needs: Principles and Practice in Camphill Schools

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.