JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Quiet day

I got out into the garden this morning, taking advantage of calm weather: the wind had dropped, the sky was clear and it was cold but lovely.  I dug some compost out of the bottom of the bin, to make space for adding more at the top. I also emptied and dismantled a wooden planter that needs mending before we use it again in the spring. I swept up all the leaves that had accumulated around the tubs and the garden picnic table, and squeezed them into the compost bin (more emptying needed soon). All this was very soothing and satisfying.
Ruth, Josh and I had speculated about an afternoon walk, but in the event the kids were happy at home, having had an early park trip.  So I went round to their house and we had a quiet coffee together. 
On the way back, I stopped to take a few pictures along London Rd, a street lined with cafes and shops from cultures and culinary traditions all over the world.  As ever, in this Covid context, it was oddly quiet.  The blossoming tree, here, caught my eye, outlined against buildings. Is it a form of viburnum? Do those have tree forms, as well as bush forms? I'm not sure what else might be in blossom at this point in the year.  Maybe fellow tree/garden enthusiasts can help me out here...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.