Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

There's a ghost in the house!

Sunday this morning and I wasn't in church. I was actually quite glad as I had a rotten night's sleep so took the chance and slept late as a result.
The garment bag in my blip arrived from Amazon today, ordered yesterday. It came with two white satin covered padded hangers and is perfect for keeping a wedding dress safe.
We did very little: ate a few too many chocolates; made a visit to the church hall to adjust the thermostats now the hall is out of use until the end of Januaryn and popped into Waitrose for some essential shopping - which included a free Sunday Times with two double sized cross words in it.
I've been enjoying the Times fiendish sudoku book which Colin gave me for Christmas. I first started to do Sudoku in 2004 or 5 when I was in India. I had started off doing the one in my free copy of the Hindu Newspaper when I was staying in an hotel. When I went to a friend's house her son went through all their back copies of the paper and cut the puzzles out for me, to take on my overnight train journey to Bangalore. I've been addicted ever since. I even buy special Faber Castell automatic pencils to do them with. Just one of my little indulgences and excuses to buy nice stationery.
Colin also gave me a Kate Rusby CD which I've enjoyed listening to. I came across her first on Mother's Day last year, which was the first weekend of lockdown. A post on face book showed her singing Bob Marley's Three Little Birds. She was in her mother's garden with her daughters and they were all staying back from her door and singing to her wearing bird masks. I was quite charmed. Kate has been doing regular Facebook posts and I enjoyed her CD too.
We're having (another) quiet evening tonight. Not sure what's on TV. Black Narcissus looks tempting though.

Keep safe and well everybody there's no point in taking risks now. Good news is emerging about the Oxford vaccine, hooray.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.