The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

She Walked on Air

I was in the kitchen. I heard Bonnie's car pull into the garage arriving from Isabella's swim meet. And then, perhaps a minute later, I heard a shriek emanating from the front yard, followed by the words, "I got THE big packet from THE school".

From the kitchen window, I had watched our mail being delieverd prior to their arrival and I was waiting for this moment (with camera in hand) knowing that the school had mailed the results yesterday. Isabella ran to the mailbox, snatched up all of the mail, discarded on the driveway that which did not concern her and, ripped the big envelope open twenty feet from the kitchen door. She was formally accepted into her top high school choice today. She had been told by admissions that she would make the cut, but until she read the letter signed by the Dean, she would not relax. And, for the remainder of the day, I never witnessed her feet touching the ground and she beamed energy the entire time. Oh my, I do love this child's exuberance for life and I am so proud of her drive and ambition.

Perhaps I was the only individual in our house that was more elated than Isabella. Here are the important details:

{drumbroll and cheesy symbols}

It is an all girls' school and it requires uniforms.

{cut to dad doing the Snoopy Dance}




Thank you for the kindness on my Puerto Rico blip. I have not been part of this community at all as of late but I hope to have some time over the next few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.