Hibernating

This morning Joke, Peter and I moved all the stuff of my parents from a storage in Kolham to Appingedam. Everything is now stored in a storage at my office. Much more convenient and above all: no rental costs anymore.
At 9 am I picked up a trailer and after two rides up and down Kolham the job was done.

Because the light had been great all day, and a bit foggy as well, Peter and I planned to go out for a photo in the afternoon. But we didn't know where to go to. Then Peter thought of Groningen Airport Eelde. We knew several KLM airplanes are lined up there at the moment. The planes are hibernating here because they aren't being used because of the virus.
Sad enough, but it should be a nice location for a photo though.

I asked Bas if he'd like to join. And to my surprise he did. But he doesn't have a proper camera. I texted Yolanda (Fotografiereizen.nl) if I could borrow one including a tripod. She immediately responded 'of course' So, 30 minutes later we were on our way to the airport, with a Nikon D300 and a (small) tripod in the trunk.

It was hard to find a good spot for the planes. Unfortunately there weren't as much planes as we'd hoped for. We read there should be 12 in a row, but we only saw 5.
I parked my car along a road somewhere and we then walked to the fences near the runway. It was difficult shooting through the fence. The light was fading fast. All and all not the best circumstances to explain Bas some basics about photography. On top of that his tripod was a wibbely wobbely one, way to small for the camera. 

On our way back to Groningen, we saw another spot from where we could capture the 5 planes. We stopped and by the time we were finished, it was completely dark already.

We then drove back to Groningen to see the world's biggest Christmas bauble: Dot. We had some fun exposing the ball as well.
In the extra section I uploaded a photo of it. This one was made by Bas, with my camera and my tripod.

Around 18.30 we were home again where sauerkraut with smoked sausage was waiting for us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.