Coventry

Back on 8th December when a certain Mrs Keenan from Ireland was given the first German BioNTech Corona vaccine in the UK at Coventry University, I got a bit fired up by the amount of BS from certain politicians and the media more or less saying, throw all caution to the wind, we are rid of the virus.

I was at that time still very active on the worldwide battlefield that is Twitter. In the course of the exchanges, I said I would light a candle for the very sensible Chief of Nursing at Coventry Hospital, a charming lady who put things in proportion.

So today I did, at Ottobeuren Basilica and their side altar with one of the Coventry Cathedral's "Cross of Nails" that go back to the German bombing of the Cathedral in WWII.

I lit four other candles for various other friends and family, and as with the Coventry one not as memorials but more as thanks. Also wrote a  note in the book on an adjacent altar.

This was at about 14:30, half an hour after Germany went into Christmas Eve lockdown as they do every year until midnight. All shops close at 14:00 and there is a ban on noise, public music and dancing e.g. no discos. All pubs & restaurants are also closed.

I had been in the large supermarket from 13:15 to 13:45, Shelves were full of fresh fruit & veg and against all predictions, barely a customer in sight. Shops don't open again until Monday 27th. Like the UK Germany has public holidays on 25th & 26th but we don't shift them around if they fall on Sat/Sun. Sunday shops are closed anyway as they are all year.

Johnson's joke deal was announced  - interesting that St Benedict is the patron saint of Europe and the Basilica/Abbey is run by Benedictine monks.

A few hours later around midnight, I was jailed by Twitter for 12 hours following a comment I made to a Tory MP's tweet following the announcement of the deal. I am very pleased as I have for the moment totally abandoned Twitter and now intend to ignore it totally as far as English politics are concerned.

On the day I lit the candles at Coventry's Cross of Nails the sole purpose of which is to promote Reconciliation, I am reminded that ever since June 23rd 2016, not one single Government Minister, the PM & certainly none of the class of 2019 Tory MPs has ever attempted to stretch out a hand to what are now the majority of the country who are against Brexit. It's a lot more than shameful.

In the extras, son J in his new house, sent as my Christmas parcel had been delivered just in time!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.